Select Page

“THE SADNESS” and more take awards at 2022 Fantaspoa festival; full list

Thursday, May 5, 2022 | Awards, News


The 2022 edition of the major Brazilian genre event spread the wealth among a number of genre features.

Fantaspoa XVIII, held in Porto Alegre, Brazil April 15-May 1, screened 188 movies both in theaters and virtually, with more than 40 filmmaker Q&As and other events. The complete list of the festival’s award-winners:

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION (Jurors: Diego Faraone, Matheus Marchetti, and Fernando Sanches)
Best Film: THE SADNESS (pictured above; Rob Jabbaz)
Best Direction: Kirill Sokolov (NO LOOKING BACK)
Best Actress: Christina Ricci (MONSTROUS)
Best Actor: George Webster (GOD’S PETTING YOU)
Best Screenplay: Lorenz Merz (SOUL OF A BEAST)
Best Art Direction: Stefan Lernous (HOTEL POSEIDON)
Best Special Effects: Victor Chang (THE SADNESS)

Best Newcomer Actress: Sofia Krugova (NO LOOKING BACK)
Best Blood (and shit) Bath: Lukas Rinker (HOLY SHIT!)
Best Ensemble Cast: Vincent Grashaw (WHAT JOSIAH SAW)

BRAZILIAN FEATURE FILM COMPETITION (Jurors: Florencia Franco, Nicanor Loreti, and Jimena Monteoliva)
Best Film: EX AEQUO–JESUS KID (Aly Muritiba) and SUBJECT (Léo Falcão)
Honorable Mention: THE CITY OF ABYSSES (Priscyla Bettim and Renato Coelho), for its aesthetical originality.

IBERO-AMERICANA COMPETITION (Jurors: Carlos Ferreira, Kirill Sokolov, and JJ Weber)
Best Film: EVERYONE WILL BURN (David Hebrero)
Best Direction: Chema García Ibarra (SACRED SPIRIT)
Best Screenplay: Fabián Forte (LEGIONS)
Best Actress: Haydeé Cáceres (MOON HEART)
Best Actor: Demián Salomón (RED DOT and WELCOME TO HELL)

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM (Jurors: Nancy Denney-Phelps, Igor Legarreta, and Pedro Rivero)

MONDO BIZARRO COMPETITION (Jurors: Kapel Furman, Rodrigo Ramos, and Dane Taranha)
Best Film: SOME LIKE IT RARE (Fabrice Eboué)

SHORT FILM COMPETITION–Award Given by ACCIRS Film Critics (Jurors: André Kleinert, Bruna Haas Pacheco, and Maurício Vassali)
Best Brazilian Short Film: THE INFERNAL MACHINE (Francis Vogner dos Reis)
Best Animated International Short Film: BESTIA (Hugo Covarrubias)
Best Live-Action International Short Film: TUNDRA (José Luis Aparicio)

Michael Gingold
Michael Gingold (RUE MORGUE's Head Writer) has been covering the world of horror cinema for over three decades, and in addition to his work for RUE MORGUE, he has been a longtime writer and editor for FANGORIA magazine and its website. He has also written for BIRTH.MOVIES.DEATH, SCREAM,, TIME OUT, DELIRIUM, MOVIEMAKER and others. He is the author of the AD NAUSEAM books (1984 Publishing) and THE FRIGHTFEST GUIDE TO MONSTER MOVIES (FAB Press), and he has contributed documentaries, featurettes and liner notes to numerous Blu-rays, including the award-winning feature-length doc TWISTED TALE: THE UNMAKING OF "SPOOKIES" (Vinegar Syndrome).